Contact: helene.cassoudesalle [a] chu-bordeaux.fr

I’m a Physical Medecine and Rehabilitation specialist, working in the Neurorehabilitation Unit at the University Hospital of Bordeaux. My research generally focuses on evaluation of cognitive dysfunctions after brain injuries, using behavioral assessment, neuroimaging and electrophysiology (EEG / ERP, TMS).

In more detail, after studying the effect of neglect on spatial visuo-auditory conflict with the collaboration of the “ToNIC” neuroimaging center (UMR 1214 – INSERM/University) in Toulouse, my research is currently, under the direction of Patrick DEHAIL, on the assessment of the cumulative effect of repeated cranial impacts during the practice of soccer, which is the most popular sport in the world.

In collaboration with the “Neuroimaging and human cognition” team (INCIA-UMR-CNRS 5287) in Bordeaux, by using multimodal cerebral MRI, we try to identify microstructural, vascular and functional cerebral changes in high-level soccer players based on their exposure to cranial impacts. We will also investigate whether cumulative impacts lead to cortical electrophysiological changes and cognitive alterations. In parallel, we are working with Philippe POISSON to evaluate if wearing a mouthguard could be an interesting prevention tool, in particular by analyzing changes in biomechanics and head motion kinematics during ball heading.

Contact: helene.cassoudesalle [a] chu-bordeaux.fr

Je suis Chef de Clinique dans le service de Médecine Physique et de Réadaptation du CHU de Bordeaux. Mes travaux de recherches portent en général sur l’étude des dysfonctionnements cognitifs après lésion cérébrale, en utilisant l’évaluation comportementale, la neuroimagerie et l’électrophysiologie (EEG/ERP, TMS).

Plus précisément, après m’être intéressée à l’effet de l’héminégligence sur le conflit visuo-auditif spatial lors d’une collaboration avec le laboratoire de neuroimagerie « ToNIC » (UMR 1214 -INSERM/Université) à Toulouse, mes travaux de recherche portent actuellement, sous la direction de Patrick DEHAIL, sur l’évaluation de l’effet cumulatif des impacts crâniens répétés au cours de la pratique du football, sport collectif le plus populaire dans le monde.

Ainsi, en collaboration avec l’équipe « Neuroimagerie et cognition humaine » (INCIA-UMR-CNRS 5287) à Bordeaux, nous cherchons à déterminer par IRM cérébrale multimodale s’il existe des modifications cérébrales microstructurales, vasculaires et fonctionnelles chez des footballeurs de haut niveau, en fonction de leur taux d’exposition aux impacts crâniens. Nous étudierons également si le cumul des impacts entraine des modifications électrophysiologiques corticales et des altérations cognitives. En parallèle, nous cherchons avec Philippe POISSON à évaluer l’intérêt du port d’un protège-dents comme moyen de prévention, notamment par l’analyse des modifications de la biomécanique et de la cinématique du mouvement de la tête lors des impacts avec le ballon.