Clémence Gordon-Dana, French-American Bilingual Speech Pathologist, PhD in Cognitive Sciences, specialized in bilingualism, research professor attached to the University Hospital of Bordeaux and the University of Paris VI.

 

As a speech therapist, I have my own private practice in Paris (75008) and I also work at the American Hospital of Paris (Neuilly-sur-Seine, 92200) in pediatrics. I receive patients, mostly French or English speaking, or bilingual, and am concerned with the assessment/diagnosis and treatment of communication and language disorders (oral or written), swallowing or voice problems, memory or attention deficits, etc. I treat patients (children, adolescents and adults) who have difficulty acquiring, mastering or maintaining their language, memory and vocal skills. I thus intervene in all aspects of communication in the broad sense of the term. For example, my patients have or have had, an oral or written language issue, a specific learning disorder such as a dysphasia, a developmental disorder such as autism, a voice disorder, hearing problems, a stroke, a head trauma (TBI) or a degenerative pathology (Alzheimer’s, Parkinson, etc.).

I am also a teacher-researcher in Cognitive Sciences attached to the CHU of Bordeaux (33000) in the MPR Service, EA 4136 HACS Handicap Activity Cognition Health, and to the Paris VI Pitié-Salpêtrière University. I am particularly interested in bilingualism, that is to say the practice of two or more languages, and the impact of this practice on brain functions (cognitive and executive ones). Recent studies on bilingualism have shown that bilingual and monolingual subjects do not treat information in the same way. It is therefore necessary to evaluate and re-educate all bilingual patients differently, as the methods of evaluation and rehabilitation currently practiced are not entirely suitable since they are dedicated to monolingual subjects.

In the course of my research, I created a test to evaluate bilingual French-English children aged 5 to 8 years old. I also teach at the University of Bordeaux and at the University of Paris VI, and I take part in conferences and supervise or mentor speech-language students for their final paper on this subject.

Clémence Gordon-Dana, Orthophoniste et Dr es Sciences Cognitives, enseignant-chercheur (Paris VI et Bordeaux 2), bilingue franco-américaine spécialiste du bilinguisme.

En tant qu’orthophoniste, j’exerce à Paris (75008) ainsi qu’à l’hôpital américain de Neuilly s/Seine (92) en pédiatrie, et reçois des patients, français, anglophones ou bilingues français-anglais principalement. Je m’occupe du diagnostic et du traitement des troubles de la communication et du langage (oral ou écrit), de la déglutition, de la voix, de la mémoire ou de l’attention. Je traite les patients (enfants, adolescents et adultes) qui rencontrent des difficultés d’acquisition, de maîtrise ou de maintien de leurs capacités langagières, vocales et mnésiques. J’interviens de ce fait pour tout ce qui touche à la communication au sens large du terme, aussi bien auprès de patients qui présentent par exemple : un retard de langage oral ou écrit, un trouble spécifique de l’apprentissage comme une dysphasie (difficultés d’acquisition et de maîtrise du langage), un trouble du développement comme l’autisme, un trouble de la voix, une surdité ou encore après un accident vasculaire cérébral, un traumatisme crânien ou dans le cadre d’une pathologie dégénérative (Alzheimer, Parkinson, etc.).
Je suis également enseignant-chercheur en sciences cognitives rattachée au CHU de Bordeaux (Service de MPR, EA 4136 HACS Handicap Activité Cognition Santé), ainsi qu’à Paris VI Pitié-Salpêtrière. Je m’intéresse particulièrement au bilinguisme, c’est-à-dire la pratique de deux ou plusieurs langues, et à l’impact de cette pratique sur le fonctionnement cérébral (cognitif et exécutif). En effet, les récentes études portant sur le bilinguisme ont démontré que les sujets bilingues et monolingues ne traitent pas l’information de la même manière. Il est de ce fait nécessaire d’évaluer et de rééduquer l’ensemble des patients bilingues différemment, pour lesquels les méthodes d’évaluation et de rééducation actuellement pratiquées ne conviennent pas totalement puisqu’elles sont dédiées à des sujets monolingues.
Dans le cadre de mes travaux de recherche, j’ai notamment créé un test pour évaluer les enfants bilingues français-anglais de 5 à 8 ans. Je donne aussi quelques cours à l’université (Bordeaux et Paris VI), participe à des conférences et encadre des étudiants en orthophonie pour leur mémoire de fin d’études sur ce sujet.